Skip to main content

CCU Library Website: Distance Education Students

CCU Library Home Page

Library Services for Distance Education Students

The CCU library is committed to providing resources to the university’s distance education students comparable to those resources available to on-campus students.To take advantage of the resources, students must first create a library account. This can be done by e-mail (library@ccuniversity.edu) or by phone (513-244-8680).

The library has a number of means to deliver information resources to distance education students. The CCU library:

--provides interlibrary loan and document delivery services to students who are not able to visit the campus library in person;

--provides access to a number of high-quality internet-accessible information resources that students can use nearly anywhere they have internet access;

--partners with other libraries in cooperative organizations throughout the U.S. to provide services and resources to CCU distance ed students;

--provides the opportunity for library staff and students to communicate electronically, so that students may receive reference and research assistance at a distance.

Below are some specific examples of the various ways the CCU library provides information resources and services to distance education students:

1. The library has a number of electronic databases that are available to off-campus users regardless of their physical location. For a full list, click on the "Research Databases" tab on the library home page. Many of these databases include full-text e-books and journal articles, as well as many full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and educational videos. Students can remotely access these databases by using their barcode number on the back of their student ID card. If you are a current student and are unsure what your barcode number is or cannot locate it, please contact the library. (Library contact information is on the right-hand side of this page.)

2. Students can take advantage of OCLC interlibrary loan services through their local public or academic libraries. As a member of OCLC, the CCU Library will cooperate with a student’s local library to provide books and other materials via its interlibrary loan service. For further information or assistance, please contact the library.

3. Students within the State of Ohio can also take advantage of OhioLINK’s interlibrary loan program. OhioLINK is a statewide consortium of academic libraries that facilitates the circulation of books and other research materials among its members. CCU students can search the OhioLINK central catalog online (http://www.ohiolink.edu), and they can request that materials be sent to a participating OhioLINK library near their home.

4. Students within the State of Ohio can use their CCU student ID card to visit and use other OhioLINK libraries. With a valid ID card, students can check out books directly from OhioLINK libraries, as well as take advantage of other services those libraries provide. A list of OhioLINK member libraries can be found here: http://www.ohiolink.edu/members-info/.

5. Students in the Greater Indianapolis area may contact the library at Christian Theological Seminary for access to their library's resources and services. The CCU Library and CTS library have a formal partnership to provide library services to each school's students. More information about the CTS library can be found at their web site: http://cts.libguides.com/library/home

5. CCU students (both inside and outside Ohio) can potentially use their CCU student ID card to visit and use libraries in their area. With a valid ID card, students can check out books directly from these libraries, as well as take advantage of other services those libraries provide. Though policies may differ from one library to another, many local college, university and seminary libraries provide courtesy borrowing privileges to local patrons. Because the CCU library is a member of the American Theological Library Association as well as the Association of Christian Librarians, students of CCU may likely receive courtesy borrowing privileges from other ATLA and ACL member libraries. Furthermore, many public libraries have a number of electronic resources, as well as traditional resources that are available to their local patrons. (Contact your local public library for details.)

6. Whenever possible, the library will also mail books, articles, and other resources directly to distance education students. Students may arrange via phone or email to have items checked out to their library account and sent directly to them via U.S. mail. For assistance, please contact the library.

7 The library will attempt to assist students with gaining access to any reserve readings assigned for the course. Please contact the library for assistance.

Library Hours

Summer Break
Monday and Tuesday: 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Wednesday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Thursday: 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed
To see a full schedule of library hours throughout the year, including special hours during breaks and holidays, click here.

Contact the Library

Library Service Desk: 513-244-8680

Email: library@ccuniversity.edu

Like CCU Library on Facebook for News and Announcements: